Springing into the Kitchen

Living in Arizona means we  enjoy the short amount of spring weather that we get before the summer heat sets into full swing. I decided to make a list of things I want to try to make in the kitchen this spring. Warning, this post might make your mouth water.

  1. Honey Lemon Chia Seed Muffins

honey-lemon-chia-seed-muffins-tablefortwoblog-4

I found this delicious looking recipe for healthy and fresh sounding little muffins. Lemon is one of my favorite flavors and for spring there is nothing more refreshing and clean. I was not surprised by any of the ingredients being used until I hit the ricotta cheese! This seemed a little strange, but the recipe writer insists that that is what makes them so light and fluffy so I am eager to try.

2. Cauliflower Tots

cheesy-cauliflower-tots-recipe

These are only five ingredients, baked, and look delicious. Cauliflower is such a great and versatile vegetable and I can only imagine how wonderful these must taste! So when I get a craving for tots this spring I will take this healthier recipe and test it out as a snack or a side! Yum!

3. Vegetable Spring Rolls

teriyaki-veggie-spring-rolls

Some spring rolls in spring, how fitting. Avocados are in season during spring and vegetables keep a meal light and fresh. Of course these are simple and you could substitute any sauce or veggies you wish. You could even add in some tofu or chicken if you desire to make them slightly more filling.

4. Slow Cooker Hawaiian Pork Burrito Bowls

slow-cooker-hawaiian-pork-burrito-bowls-6

Pineapple and avocado with some slow cooker pork sounds heavenly right now! This is a meal fit for spring and summer, a lot of fresh produce with some juicy tender pork is a wonderful filling meal. Also, slow cookers give me time to go do some other fun things while the meal makes itself.

5. Mushroom, Leek, and Fontina Frittata

mushroom-leek-and-fontina-frittata-940x560

Fast and simple, this sounds like a wonderfully brunchable meal to share with friends. This only takes around thirty minutes to cook and has many fresh and delicious ingredients. Pop it in the oven and have some friends over for a spring afternoon meal outside.

6. Blackberry Pineapple Float

blackberry-pineapple-float-1

This looks so refreshing and is quite a lovely color! I have always loved root beer floats so this is right up my alley. So easy to make and including fresh fruit, can not get much better than that. It may not actually be super healthy, but you can tell yourself that you are getting some good fruit in your system.

     7. Raspberry Crumble Bars

dark-chocolate-raspberry-pie-bars-by-deliciouslysprinkled-com_

I made these for valentines day one year and I have to say, they were gone in a snap! These are so delicious, melt in your mouth amazing. I used bigger chocolate chips and added some white chocolate to them as well. These are super easy to mix up, use different types of flavorings and chocolate to make it your own. Experiment a little!

     8. Pesto Chicken and Zucchini Noodles

pestochickenwithzucchininoodles2

I am a huge fan of pesto, you can put it on anything and it is instantly better. The new discovery of zucchini as a magical vegetable, technically a fruit, can lend itself well to many different dishes. Instead of making a heavy pasta dish you can substitute in these zucchini noodles on a warm spring afternoon.

     9. Chocolate and Raspberry Chia Seed Pudding

raspberry-and-chocolate-chia-pudding-708

I have been dying to try one of these but I don’t have a blender with me and honestly I would make a mess of my desk if I did. Anyway, doesn’t this look delicious! Sweet and sour between the chocolate and the raspberry, a heavenly combination. This takes a little time because you have to let some of it chill but it looks worth the wait!

     10. Rhubarb Bars

rhubarb-bars-3-683x1024

Last but not least, a dessert for the rhubarb lovers. Not overly sweet but still quite desserty, these rhubarb bars look fun and yummy. These have a little more prep time and quite a bit more ingredients than the other recipes, but if you are looking for a rhubarb fix, these look like your ticket.

So, I hope to make some of these as I gain access to a nice clean kitchen, probably over spring break. Have a tea party and invite your friends over to celebrate spring and all the yummy food you can make!

I did not write any of these recipes and none of these photos are mine.
Leave a Reply

